Today, Twitter has begun testing “Circles”. You can think of Twitter Circle as the equivalent of the “Close Friends” list on Instagram. When Tweeting to your Circle, only those you've added to your Circle will be able to see and reply to your Tweets.
Some Tweets are for everyone & others are just for people you’ve picked.— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) May 3, 2022
We’re now testing Twitter Circle, which lets you add up to 150 people who can see your Tweets when you want to share with a smaller crowd.
Some of you can create your own Twitter Circle beginning today! pic.twitter.com/nLaTG8qctp
Twitter has uploaded a new Help Center page that explains all about Twitter Circle. It is not the same as Twitter Communities, and it is not the same as having a protected account (where only those allowed can see your Tweets).
Currently, you can only have one Circle, and the number of people to a Circle is limited to 150 users. Only you can see the full list of users in your Circle and Tweets shared to a Circle cannot be Retweeted. Although the Circle restricts who can see certain Tweets, this does not stop them from re-sharing media or screenshots of your content.
Finally, if you were added to a Circle, you cannot remove yourself from them. Twitter recommends muting the conversations they don’t wish to be a part of.
Twitter is only testing this feature with some users globally. To see if you’re part of the test group, you should see the option to create a Circle pop up when you compose a Tweet on Android, iOS, or on Twitter.com. Anyone can be part of a Circle, even those who you don’t follow. Only those in your Circle can see, reply to, and read replies to your Tweet when posted to your Circle.